Level Up! Live

I just got back from attending Level Up! Live 2008 at the World Trade Center. It was interesting to see the event since it has been years since I actually attended an event by Level Up!. I unfortunately don’t have any pictures to show but I’ll get some later from a few friends of mine. After being through some few events of my own in the past years, I really liked the way Level Up! handled everything here. It was organized, the crowed was very good even though they were many, the booths were interesting to see. Although I have to admit that I stayed mostly at the PlayGround booth because I know most of the people there were from PinoyPS and PinoyXbox communities. I am a member of those but I am not as active as I was years ago.

There were 4 or 5 projectors on top of the entire event, showing basically the same video, it generally shows a lot of Level Up! game trailers which composed of Ragnarok, Perfect World, RF Online and others. They did show a few new upcoming games like Rohan and Hello Kitty Online. The projector also shows the actual event which is why we are here in the first place. There is an international PvP (Player Versus Player) competition, and they actually have several representatives from other countries in the event and personally, it was presented very well. 

Although I still have problems with Ragnarok itself, it’s not my favorite and I can’t last playing it. I was suprised to see PvP is like watching cartoons. When they fight… its just a big cloud, and you don’t know what the heck is happening within it. The only thing I see… is a bunch of healing spells spammed all over. At least I can see the flags of the players.

There were several booths, mostly showed a bunch of computer stuff, like hardware, Yahoo Philippines, PlayGround Magazine, Internet services and more, some interesting games that reminds me of small carnivals. What I wanted to get into… was the indoor wall climbing booth. It was about 2 to 3 stories high i think. I wish I could have gotten to do that, but the line was too long and I didn’t have the patience to do that. 

I was a bit surprised that I didn’t see a lot of cosplayers (costume players) in the event, considering that most events I have been to has been a bit overwhelming with those kinds of people. It was nice to see that this didn’t focus on that this time around. The event focused on the tournament, and it was presented very professionally and fun at the same time.

Anyway, It was a well organized event. Even though I only stayed in the PlayGround Magazine booth most of the time, I had a good time getting to play a little Rockband 2 on the PinoyXbox booth and some Little Big Planet on the PinoyPS booth. 

There is still another day of the event, but I won’t be able to attend the last day because I have to go to the World Cyber Games sometime tomorrow. But if any of you have the time, the PlayGround Magazine booth still has PinoyPS which will demo several games for the PS3, and I think there are still so many scheduled events for the event.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

