Need to deactivate your PS3?

Ever had a problem that your old PS3 is still considered as activated and you have a lot of games already bought on PSN? I did, I have borrowed several PS3’s before I was able to own one. I forgot to disable my accounts there, so I’m worried that I may reach my maximum amount of licences and I don’t have to get them back. Now here’s a solution…

You can go to Sony Entertainment Network Account page. Login you PSN account there, and you should be able to see all the PS3’s and PSP’s that you ever used your account on. You can even see other devices too, like mobile phones and Internet HDTVs. You won’t be able to deactivate individual devices through the site, but you can deactivate all of them at the same time. You can only do this every 6 months.

Once you deactivate, you can reactivate the console through the PS3 only. This solves my problem regarding my active licences with my PSN account. Also rename your PS3 online so that you won’t get confused what console is activated.

Also, you can discover a lot of other things you can check out on your account, like I completely forgot that I’ve put a secondary account under the my main account and you can also change the password of any secondary account.

You can read the full instruction on how to deactivate your consoles here at the Playstation Knowledge Center.

It’s good to know that I can do this online instead of trying to call Sony directly.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

