Currently Watching: Pompeii (2014)

pompeii (6)

Stay away from this movie! I’m serious.

I was curious to see it, I was fascinated with its history. I’ve seen documentaries on how people got burned and transformed into human statues, and how the location got preserved. Of course, I got interested to see how they can make a movie out of it. Then suddenly, when the movie started, I worried because I saw the name Paul W.S. Anderson. Yup, it’ the person who directed the Resident Evil movie series. I admit that the Resident Evil movies has it’s moments, but not enough to warrant that much movies.

pompeii (8)

The cast listing was actually impressive. Having talents like Kit Harrington (Game of Thrones), Carrie-Anne Moss (The Matrix Trilogy), Emily Browning (Sucker Punch), Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje (Thor: The Dark World), Jared Harris (Fringe, Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows) and Keifer Sutherland (24 series, Dark City) . I mean, these are impressive actors. How can you go wrong with it?

pompeii (7)

Watching the movie, it feels like the actors are just doing the scenes for the money. There is no heart to it. There was nothing impressive with the acting, the story feels shallow, and it feels like they just made the script like they just watched a documentary and that’s it. No deep research whatsoever to make the movie feel real. I was so bothered in just a few minutes in that they called the coachman as “driver” which bothered me so much because the word is not in the proper use. It just killed my interest in the movie for me. With all the budget that they had for the CGI, they just didn’t take the time to make the actors feel natural or research a simple word. It just feels like they just saw the script and said… yeah sure, lets do it, why not.

So, obviously, I don’t like the movie. It’s not even a movie I’d kill my time with.

pompeii (4)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

