Currently Playing: X-Wing Miniature Game

x-wing-01

I’ve been curious to try this game for a while. I’ve always been a fan of Star Wars, and I even tried getting toys when I had the chance. Also, I’ve been playing some classic X-Wing games recently to get my fix. Now here is the X-Wing Miniature Game that I have been wanting to try for a long time. I’ve been seeing videos of this from Shup Up and Sit Down and at TableTop. Paul of HobbyPro Central was kind enough to set aside some time to teach me how to play. The game is a tactical dog fighting game with a Star Wars theme made by Fantasy Flight Games.

I am amazed with the detail of the ships. Other than it has good detailing on the small models themselves, it’s already painted, and it looks amazing. You do have an option to paint it, but it’s an option. This is not like the Warhammer tabletop games where you have to paint it.

73fa1cea35bbe44e87950b4000e39a4e

I suppose the only problem that you can encounter with the look of the ships is that if you have a friend with you that has the same set of miniatures, it can get confusing. But that it a minor gripe, and it’s just because I like how it already looks.

Setting up the game takes a while though since we had to look through all the ship cards that are placed on the stand. These ship cards are specific to the ship, which details who is piloting the ship, shields, skills and others. I only borrowed a set, so there were a lot to go through. We did eventually find the cards we needed to start the game. With ship cards in place, we also get pilot cards.

SWX01-move-dials

I chose to use the Imperial ships. Regardless of how weird TIE-Fighters look like, I still find them cool. Of course, Paul used the Rebel Alliance. We had only setup on a small table, so the fight will be very quick. So I thought… We setup our placement of the ships, I start from one end, and Paul starts from the other. We can position our ships almost anywhere as long as its within small range from your end.

pilot-cards

So the game starts by planning your moves. Pilot cards have numbers which detail on who moves first. The lower the number, moves first. Higher number moves last. You plan moves by using a move dial. This will determine if it can move forward, left or right, in high speed or in turn really quick. It can also determine if your ship will cool down or heat up depending on the move you make. You plan on your moves on the move dial and put on the table face down. What’s interesting with this first phase is that you have to plan ahead on how you want to do the attack, but you also have to second guess on what your opponent will do.

x-wing-02

Once everyone has made their plans, it’s now time to move the ships. Players now show up all the move dials. Lowest pilot number moves first, and highest number moves last. You use a move template to guide you on how far your ship has moved. If a ship collides with a ship or asteroid, they loose a move turn on the next turn.

Ships have moved, now its time to attack. Pilot number who has the higher value attacks first. Now you attack based on an angle that is shown on the ship card. You also use a kind of ruler that measures your hit range. Once you can determine if you can make a proper hit without anything blocking your line of sight, you use a number of attack dice determined by the ship card and your ruler. The shorter the range, the more dice that you can use. Attack dice has options to do a critical attack, a regular attack, miss or focus. Right after a ship attacks, the defender must roll a defender dice, to determine of they were able to dodge or take the hit. Focus on the other hand gives them the ability to use a special set of skills, like twisting around, or using force powers, depending on your ship and pilot skills.

ships

And once all the ships have attacked, it starts again with the planning phase.

The game was a lot of fun and exciting. Especially when the dog fighting starts. Although I do have to admit that starting with the basic set is very minimal because you start with only 2 TIE-Fighters and 1 X-Wing.It’s so basic that the dog fight is not that interesting to play. But if you play with a lot of ships, I started out with 4 TIE-Fighters and a TIE Advance on my first game. The more ships you have with the game, the better it gets. And when I played, I can almost image how it was all looking if I was the pilot of the ship, sound effects included.

Paul suggested, at least get 2 core sets when starting out.

Oh, by the way, they also have an app that does the dice roll and with added sound effects too. If I get the game for myself, I might not be able to stop myself from getting the app too, just for the fun of the special effects.

Special thanks to Paul Domingo of HobbtPro Central for teaching me how to play the basics. Looking forward to play with deeper rules.

Just before you leave, you have to see this expansion set of the game, the Tentative IV CR90. Here’s a review from Tom Strong Reviews.

Some images in this article come directly from Fantasy Flight Games.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

